Mana Flare 2Red

Mana Flare
Carl Critchlow


Whenever a player taps a land for mana, that player adds one mana of any type that land produced.


  • 10/4/2004 If the land produces more than one color of mana at a single time, its controller chooses which of those types is produced by Mana Flare’s ability.
  • 10/4/2004 The types of mana are white, blue, black, red, green, and colorless.
  • 10/4/2004 When used with lands that can produce multiple colors, Mana Flare produces one additional mana of the same color that was produced. It can’t give a mana of a color that wasn’t produced.
  • 10/4/2004 Only produces extra mana when land is tapped for mana, not when tapped by some other effect.
  • 10/4/2004 Mana Flare adds one of whatever color the land produces after applying any land type or color changing effects.
  • 10/4/2004 This is a triggered mana ability.
  • 9/16/2007 Does not copy any restrictions on the mana, such as with Mishra’s Workshop or Pillar of the Paruns.
  • 9/16/2007 Produces only one additional mana, regardless of how much was produced by tapping the land.
(Rulings updated 3 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Not legal
  • modern: Not legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Not legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Legal
  • commander: Legal
  • 1v1: Legal
  • duel: Legal
  • brawl: Legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Legal
  • pioneer: Not legal
  • gladiator: Legal
  • premodern: Legal
  • historicbrawl: Legal
  • paupercommander: Not legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Not legal
  • predh: Legal
  • oathbreaker: Legal
  • timeless: Legal
  • standardbrawl: Not legal

Similar cards: