Detainment Spell White

Enchantment - Aura
Detainment Spell
Darrell Riche


Enchant creature
Enchanted creature's activated abilities can't be activated.
1White: Attach Detainment Spell to target creature.


  • 9/25/2006 Detainment Spell prevents mana abilities of the enchanted creature from being activated.
  • 9/25/2006 Morph isn’t an activated ability, so Detainment Spell doesn’t prevent face-down creatures from being able to turn face up.
  • 9/25/2006 Responding to a creature’s activated ability being activated by moving Detainment Spell onto that creature won’t affect the ability that was just activated.
(Rulings updated 2 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Not legal
  • modern: Legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Legal
  • commander: Legal
  • 1v1: Legal
  • duel: Legal
  • brawl: Not legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Not legal
  • pioneer: Not legal
  • gladiator: Not legal
  • premodern: Not legal
  • historicbrawl: Not legal
  • paupercommander: Legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Not legal
  • predh: Legal
  • oathbreaker: Legal


Useful links:

Similar cards: