Necrotic Wound Black

The assassins of Ochran distill toxins from the remains of the previous victims.
Necrotic Wound
Randy Vargas


Undergrowth — Target creature gets -X/-X until end of turn, where X is the number of creature cards in your graveyard. If that creature would die this turn, exile it instead.


  • 10/5/2018 The value of X is determined only as the undergrowth ability resolves. If the number of creature cards in your graveyard changes later in the turn, the target creature is unaffected.
  • 10/5/2018 Necrotic Wound’s replacement effect will exile the target creature if it would die this turn for any reason, not just immediately after Necrotic Wound resolves.
  • 10/5/2018 If you have no creature cards in your graveyard, the target creature gets -0/-0, and it will still be exiled if it would die this turn.
  • 10/5/2018 Creature cards with other types, such as artifact creature cards, count for undergrowth abilities.
  • 10/5/2018 Because tokens aren’t cards, they never count for undergrowth abilities.
(Rulings updated 3 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Legal
  • modern: Legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Not legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Not legal
  • commander: Legal
  • 1v1: Legal
  • duel: Legal
  • brawl: Not legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Legal
  • pioneer: Legal
  • gladiator: Legal
  • premodern: Not legal
  • historicbrawl: Legal
  • paupercommander: Not legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Legal
  • predh: Not legal
  • oathbreaker: Legal


Other languages:

  • en Necrotic Wound

Useful links:

Similar cards: