Liege of the Tangle 6GreenGreen

Creature - Elemental
Liege of the Tangle
Jason Chan


Whenever Liege of the Tangle deals combat damage to a player, you may choose any number of target lands you control and put an awakening counter on each of them. Each of those lands is an 8/8 green Elemental creature for as long as it has an awakening counter on it. They're still lands.


  • 8/7/2020 Whether an affected land remains an 8/8 green Elemental creature depends only on whether it still has an awakening counter on it, not on whether Liege of the Tangle is still on the battlefield.
  • 8/7/2020 If an awakening counter is moved from an affected land to another land, this doesn’t cause the recipient to be affected by Liege of the Tangle’s ability.
(Rulings updated 2 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Not legal
  • modern: Legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Not legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Legal
  • commander: Legal
  • 1v1: Legal
  • duel: Legal
  • brawl: Not legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Not legal
  • pioneer: Not legal
  • gladiator: Not legal
  • premodern: Not legal
  • historicbrawl: Not legal
  • paupercommander: Not legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Not legal
  • predh: Legal
  • oathbreaker: Legal

Similar cards: