Stalwart Shield-Bearers 1White

Creature - Human Soldier
"Hold fast the line! Either we stop them here or we wake up in their guts!" —Tala Vertan, Makindi shieldmate
Stalwart Shield-Bearers
Austin Hsu


Other creatures you control with defender get +0/+2.


  • 6/15/2010 Stalwart Shield-Bearers continually checks which creatures you control have defender and gives the bonus only to them. If an effect causes a creature with defender to lose defender (as Shoal Serpent does), Stalwart Shield-Bearers stops giving it the bonus for as long as it doesn’t have defender. On the other hand, if a spell or ability causes a creature to be able to attack as though it didn’t have defender (as Warmonger’s Chariot does), Stalwart Shield-Bearers continues to give it the bonus because it never actually loses the defender ability.
(Rulings updated 2 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Not legal
  • modern: Legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Legal
  • commander: Legal
  • 1v1: Legal
  • duel: Legal
  • brawl: Not legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Not legal
  • pioneer: Not legal
  • gladiator: Not legal
  • premodern: Not legal
  • historicbrawl: Not legal
  • paupercommander: Legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Not legal
  • predh: Legal
  • oathbreaker: Legal

Similar cards: