Searing Blaze RedRed

Instant
Searing Blaze
Artist:
Jaime Jones
Share:

Text:


Searing Blaze deals 1 damage to target player or planeswalker and 1 damage to target creature that player or that planeswalker's controller controls.
Landfall — If you had a land enter the battlefield under your control this turn, Searing Blaze deals 3 damage to that player or planeswalker and 3 damage to that creature instead.

Rulings:

  • 3/1/2010 Whether you had a land enter the battlefield under your control this turn is checked as this spell resolves, not as you cast it.
  • 3/1/2010 Having more than one land enter the battlefield under your control this turn provides no additional benefit.
  • 3/1/2010 The landfall ability checks for an action that has happened in the past. It doesn’t matter if a land that entered the battlefield under your control previously in the turn is still on the battlefield, is still under your control, or is still a land.
  • 3/1/2010 Once the spell resolves, having a land enter the battlefield under your control provides no further benefit.
  • 3/1/2010 The effect of this spell’s landfall ability replaces its normal effect. If you had a land enter the battlefield under your control this turn, only the landfall-based effect happens.
  • 3/1/2010 You must choose two targets as you cast Searing Blaze: a player and a creature that player controls. If you can’t (because there are no creatures on the battlefield, perhaps), then you can’t cast the spell.
  • 3/1/2010 If either target is illegal by the time Searing Blaze resolves, it still deals damage to the other target.
(Rulings updated 1 year ago)

Legality:

  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Not legal
  • modern: Legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Not legal
  • commander: Legal
  • 1v1: Legal
  • duel: Legal
  • brawl: Not legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Not legal
  • pioneer: Not legal
  • gladiator: Not legal
  • premodern: Not legal
  • historicbrawl: Not legal
  • paupercommander: Legal

Other languages:

  • en Searing Blaze

Useful links:

Similar cards: