Oracle's Vault 4

Oracle's Vault
Cliff Childs


2, Tap: Exile the top card of your library. Until end of turn, you may play that card. Put a brick counter on Oracle's Vault.
Tap: Exile the top card of your library. Until end of turn, you may play that card without paying its mana cost. Activate this ability only if there are three or more brick counters on Oracle's Vault.


  • 4/18/2017 The cards exiled by Oracle’s Vault are exiled face up.
  • 4/18/2017 You may play the exiled card this turn even if Oracle’s Vault is no longer on the battlefield or under your control.
  • 4/18/2017 Playing a card exiled with Oracle’s Vault follows the normal timing rules for playing that card. For example, if the card is a creature card, you can cast that card only during your main phase while the stack is empty.
  • 4/18/2017 If the exiled card is a land card, you may play it only if you have an available land play this turn.
  • 4/18/2017 If you don’t play the card, it will remain exiled.
  • 4/18/2017 The first ability of Oracle’s Vault puts a brick counter on it even if you can’t or don’t play the card.
  • 4/18/2017 If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t choose to cast it for any alternative costs, such as emerge costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, such as that of Tormenting Voice, those must be paid to cast the card.
  • 4/18/2017 If the card has X in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost.
(Rulings updated 3 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Legal
  • modern: Legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Not legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Legal
  • commander: Legal
  • 1v1: Legal
  • duel: Legal
  • brawl: Not legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Not legal
  • pioneer: Legal
  • gladiator: Not legal
  • premodern: Not legal
  • historicbrawl: Not legal
  • paupercommander: Not legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Not legal
  • predh: Not legal
  • oathbreaker: Legal

Other languages:

  • en Oracle's Vault

Useful links:

Similar cards: