Fraying Omnipotence 3BlackBlack

The Great Mending that healed the Multiverse also unraveled the threads of Nicol Bolas's power.
Fraying Omnipotence
Svetlin Velinov


Each player loses half their life, then discards half the cards in their hand, then sacrifices half the creatures they control. Round up each time.


  • 7/13/2018 The amounts that are lost are rounded up, not the amounts kept. For example, a player with 5 life, five cards in hand, and five creatures would lose 3 life, discard three cards, and sacrifice three creatures.
  • 7/13/2018 Because the instructions are followed in order, abilities of the creatures a player will sacrifice may modify or trigger on losing life, discarding cards, and/or sacrificing creatures. Abilities that trigger this way will resolve after Fraying Omnipotence is done resolving.
  • 7/13/2018 When Fraying Omnipotence resolves, first each player loses the appropriate amount of life at once. Next, the player whose turn it is chooses an appropriate number of cards in hand without revealing them, then each other player in turn order does the same, and then those cards are all discarded simultaneously. Then, the player whose turn it is chooses an appropriate number of creatures they control. Each other player in turn order does the same, knowing choices made by previous players. Finally, all of the chosen creatures are sacrificed simultaneously.
  • 7/13/2018 In a Two-Headed Giant game, Fraying Omnipotence causes each player to lose half of their team’s life, rounded up. This means that teams at an even life total will have 0 life, and teams at an odd life total will have -1 life. The game then ends in a draw.
(Rulings updated 3 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Legal
  • modern: Legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Not legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Legal
  • commander: Legal
  • 1v1: Legal
  • duel: Legal
  • brawl: Legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Legal
  • pioneer: Legal
  • gladiator: Legal
  • premodern: Not legal
  • historicbrawl: Legal
  • paupercommander: Not legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Legal
  • predh: Not legal
  • oathbreaker: Legal
  • timeless: Legal
  • standardbrawl: Not legal


Other languages:

  • en Fraying Omnipotence

Useful links:

Similar cards: