Cornered Market 2White

Don't step on the livelihood of other vendors, or they may step on you. —Mercadian saying
Cornered Market
Edward P. Beard, Jr.


Players can't cast spells with the same name as a nontoken permanent.
Players can't play nonbasic lands with the same name as a nontoken permanent.


  • 10/4/2004 Cornered Market does not prevent effects which put a card onto the battlefield. It only stops people from casting.
  • 10/4/2004 This card only looks at permanents, not spells on the stack. So it is possible to cast two instances of a spell onto the stack.
(Rulings updated 2 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Not legal
  • modern: Not legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Not legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Not legal
  • commander: Legal
  • 1v1: Legal
  • duel: Legal
  • brawl: Not legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Not legal
  • pioneer: Not legal
  • gladiator: Not legal
  • premodern: Legal
  • historicbrawl: Not legal
  • paupercommander: Not legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Not legal
  • predh: Legal
  • oathbreaker: Legal

Similar cards: