Gore Vassal 2White

Creature - Hound
"Rid them of their unfaithful organs. Bring new hearts to the unbelievers." —Tome of Machines, verse 1703
Gore Vassal
Matt Cavotta


Sacrifice Gore Vassal: Put a -1/-1 counter on target creature. Then if that creature's toughness is 1 or greater, regenerate it.


  • 6/1/2011 You can activate Gore Vassal’s ability targeting itself, but it won’t get a -1/-1 counter or regenerate because it’ll be an illegal target when the ability resolves.
  • 6/1/2011 The regeneration shield will last until the turn ends or until it’s used.
  • 6/1/2011 Let’s say you activate Gore Vassal’s ability targeting a creature with 3 toughness and 2 damage marked on it. The regeneration shield will be created just before the creature is destroyed for having damage marked on it equal to or greater than its toughness. The creature will then regenerate. That is, all damage will be removed from it and it will become tapped; any counters on the creature, including the -1/-1 counter put on by this ability, remain.
(Rulings updated 2 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Not legal
  • modern: Legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Not legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Legal
  • commander: Legal
  • duel: Legal
  • oldschool: Not legal

Similar cards: