Conjurer's Ban WhiteBlack

Orzhov faithful file past to have their minds purged of "impure" desires. There, the guiltwardens eliminate any thoughts of hope or self-sufficiency.
Conjurer's Ban
Pete Venters


Choose a card name. Until your next turn, spells with the chosen name can't be cast and lands with the chosen name can't be played.
Draw a card.


  • 2/1/2006 Players may cast spells while Conjurer’s Ban is on the stack. Only after all players pass priority does Conjurer’s Ban resolve, and that’s when you name a card. Once you name a card, that card can’t be played in response.
  • 2/1/2006 You may name a land card to prevent it from being played.
  • 2/1/2006 Conjurer’s Ban only affects cards. A copy of a card (for example, one created by Eye of the Storm isn’t a card, so it can be played.
  • 8/1/2008 This can’t be used as a counterspell. It will have no effect on spells which were on the stack when it was cast, nor on those cast in response to it.
(Rulings updated 2 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Not legal
  • modern: Legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Not legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Legal
  • commander: Legal
  • 1v1: Legal
  • duel: Legal
  • brawl: Not legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Not legal
  • pioneer: Not legal
  • gladiator: Not legal
  • premodern: Not legal
  • historicbrawl: Not legal
  • paupercommander: Not legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Not legal
  • predh: Legal
  • oathbreaker: Legal

Similar cards: