Sturdy Hatchling 3Green or Blue

Creature - Elemental
Sturdy Hatchling
Darrell Riche


Sturdy Hatchling enters the battlefield with four -1/-1 counters on it.
Green or Blue: Sturdy Hatchling gains shroud until end of turn. (It can't be the target of spells or abilities.)
Whenever you cast a green spell, remove a -1/-1 counter from Sturdy Hatchling.
Whenever you cast a blue spell, remove a -1/-1 counter from Sturdy Hatchling.


  • 8/1/2008 If you cast a spell that’s both of the listed colors, both abilities will trigger. You’ll remove a total of two -1/-1 counters from the Hatchling.
  • 8/1/2008 If there are no -1/-1 counters on it when the triggered ability resolves, the ability does nothing. There is no penalty for not being able to remove a counter.
(Rulings updated 2 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Not legal
  • modern: Legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Not legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Legal
  • commander: Legal
  • 1v1: Legal
  • duel: Legal
  • brawl: Not legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Not legal
  • pioneer: Not legal
  • gladiator: Not legal
  • premodern: Not legal
  • historicbrawl: Not legal
  • paupercommander: Not legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Not legal
  • predh: Legal
  • oathbreaker: Legal

Similar cards: