First Response 3White

"There's never a good time for a disaster or an attack. That's why we're here."
—Oren, militia captain
First Response
Slawomir Maniak


At the beginning of each upkeep, if you lost life last turn, create a 1/1 white Soldier creature token.


  • 11/10/2020 Damage dealt to you causes you to lose that much life.
  • 11/10/2020 First Response looks at the entire previous turn to determine whether its ability triggers or not. It doesn’t matter whether First Response was on the battlefield when you lost life.
  • 11/10/2020 First Response checks only if you lost life during the turn, not whether your life total decreased over the course of the turn. For example, if you lost 2 life and then gained 8 life last turn, First Response’s ability will trigger.
  • 11/10/2020 Only one Soldier will be created no matter how much life was lost.
  • 11/10/2020 The Soldier won’t be able to attack the turn it’s created (unless something gives it haste).
(Rulings updated 2 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • historic: Not legal
  • pioneer: Legal
  • modern: Legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Not legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Legal
  • commander: Legal
  • brawl: Not legal
  • duel: Legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • gladiator: Not legal
  • premodern: Not legal
  • historicbrawl: Not legal
  • paupercommander: Not legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Not legal
  • predh: Not legal
  • oathbreaker: Legal

Similar cards: