Sudden Substitution 2BlueBlue

"Bow before the might of—wait, what?"
Sudden Substitution
Noah Bradley


Split second (As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't cast spells or activate abilities that aren't mana abilities.)
Exchange control of target noncreature spell and target creature. Then the spell's controller may choose new targets for it.


  • 8/23/2019 While a spell with split second is on the stack, players can take special actions such as turning a face-down permanent face up.
  • 8/23/2019 A mana ability is an ability that produces mana, not an ability that costs mana.
  • 8/23/2019 If the target spell or the target creature is an illegal target as Sudden Substitution resolves, the exchange won’t happen. If both targets are legal but are both controlled by the same player, the exchange won’t happen.
  • 8/23/2019 If the exchange doesn’t happen but the spell is still a legal target, its controller may choose new targets for it.
  • 8/23/2019 The noncreature spell is still on the stack after exchanging control, and the creature is still on the battlefield.
  • 8/23/2019 If a permanent spell is exchanged this way, its new controller will control the permanent it becomes.
  • 8/23/2019 The exchange lasts indefinitely. It doesn’t expire for the spell if the creature changes zones or leaves the game, or vice versa.
  • 8/23/2019 In a multiplayer game, if the controller of one of the objects leaves the game after Sudden Substitution resolves, the effect that gave them control of the spell or permanent expires. If the spell is still on the stack, the player who gains control of it this way can’t choose new targets for it.
(Rulings updated 3 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • modern: Not legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Not legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Not legal
  • commander: Legal
  • brawl: Not legal
  • duel: Legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Not legal
  • pioneer: Not legal
  • gladiator: Not legal
  • premodern: Not legal
  • historicbrawl: Not legal
  • paupercommander: Not legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Not legal
  • predh: Not legal
  • oathbreaker: Legal
  • timeless: Not legal
  • standardbrawl: Not legal

Similar cards: