Loyal Unicorn 3White

Creature - Unicorn
Loyal Unicorn
Volkan Baǵa


Lieutenant — At the beginning of combat on your turn, if you control your commander, prevent all combat damage that would be dealt to creatures you control this turn. Other creatures you control gain vigilance until end of turn.


  • 7/13/2018 Once Loyal Unicorn’s lieutenant ability has resolved while you control your commander, its effects persist this turn even if you lose control of your commander or Loyal Unicorn.
  • 7/13/2018 Loyal Unicorn’s effect will prevent all combat damage that would be dealt to creatures you control, even if those creatures weren’t on the battlefield or weren’t creatures when the effect resolved.
  • 7/13/2018 If you don’t control your commander as the lieutenant ability resolves, you won’t get its effect.
  • 7/13/2018 The lieutenant effect happens only once each combat, even if you somehow control multiple commanders (perhaps because you have two commanders with a partner ability from the Battlebond™ set).
  • 7/13/2018 If you have multiple commanders, you need to control only one for the lieutenant effect to happen.
(Rulings updated 3 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Not legal
  • modern: Not legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Not legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Not legal
  • commander: Legal
  • 1v1: Not legal
  • duel: Legal
  • brawl: Not legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Not legal
  • pioneer: Not legal
  • gladiator: Not legal
  • premodern: Not legal
  • historicbrawl: Not legal
  • paupercommander: Not legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Not legal
  • predh: Not legal
  • oathbreaker: Legal

Similar cards: