Eradicate 2BlackBlack

Sorcery
Eradicate
Artist:
Glen Angus
Share:

Text:


Exile target nonblack creature. Search its controller's graveyard, hand, and library for all cards with the same name as that creature and exile them. Then that player shuffles.

Rulings:

  • 10/4/2004 Use the name of the card as it leaves the battlefield.
  • 10/4/2004 If a copy card is targeted by this effect, you get to look for another copy of the card it is copying. This is because a copy card actually takes on the name and initial characteristics of what it copies.
  • 10/4/2004 Does not exile other cards of the same name that are on the battlefield. Just from the graveyard, hand, and library.
  • 2/1/2005 If you manage to turn a land (such as a Forest or Stalking Stones) into a creature, you can indeed use this effect on that basic land type. Eradicate’s exile effect only looks for cards by name, not type.
  • 2/1/2005 The copies must be found if they are in publicly viewable zones. Finding copies while searching private zones is optional.
  • 5/1/2012 A face-down creature has no name, so no card can possibly share a name with it (not even other cards with no name). If you Eradicate a face-down creature you will still search its controller’s library, but you won’t be able to exile any cards from that library.
(Rulings updated 1 year ago)

Legality:

  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Not legal
  • modern: Legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Not legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Legal
  • commander: Legal
  • 1v1: Legal
  • duel: Legal
  • brawl: Not legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Not legal
  • pioneer: Not legal
  • gladiator: Not legal
  • premodern: Legal
  • historicbrawl: Not legal
  • paupercommander: Not legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Not legal

Similar cards: