Tyrant of Discord 4RedRedRed

Creature - Elemental
Tyrant of Discord
Richard Wright


When Tyrant of Discord enters the battlefield, target opponent chooses a permanent they control at random and sacrifices it. If a nonland permanent is sacrificed this way, repeat this process.


  • 5/1/2012 Repeating the process includes the instruction to repeat the process. That is, the opponent will keep sacrificing permanents until they sacrifice a land.
  • 5/1/2012 Repeating the process does not include targeting an opponent. Only one opponent will have to sacrifice permanents.
  • 5/1/2012 If any abilities trigger while Tyrant of Discord’s enters-the-battlefield ability is resolving, those abilities will wait until the enters-the-battlefield ability finishes resolving before going on the stack. Starting with the active player, each player puts their abilities on the stack in any order.
  • 5/1/2012 If the target opponent can’t sacrifice permanents (perhaps because of Sigarda, Host of Herons), the opponent will choose a permanent at random but not sacrifice it. The ability will then finish resolving.
(Rulings updated 2 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Not legal
  • modern: Legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Not legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Legal
  • commander: Legal
  • 1v1: Legal
  • duel: Legal
  • brawl: Not legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Not legal
  • pioneer: Not legal
  • gladiator: Not legal
  • premodern: Not legal
  • historicbrawl: Not legal
  • paupercommander: Not legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Not legal
  • predh: Not legal
  • oathbreaker: Legal

Similar cards: