Maelstrom Pulse 1BlackGreen

During the collision of the shards, entire ways of life disappeared without a trace.
Maelstrom Pulse
Anthony Francisco


Destroy target nonland permanent and all other permanents with the same name as that permanent.


  • 8/7/2020 Maelstrom Pulse has only one target. Other permanents with the same name will be destroyed even if they have hexproof or protection.
  • 8/7/2020 If the target permanent is an illegal target by the time Maelstrom Pulse tries to resolve, the spell won’t resolve. You won’t destroy any permanents at all. If the target is legal but not destroyed (most likely because it has indestructible), you do destroy other permanents with the same name.
  • 8/7/2020 The name of a token is the same as the subtypes it was created with unless the token is a copy of another permanent or the effect that created the token specifically gives it a different name. For example, a 1/1 red Elemental creature token created by Young Pyromancer and a 4/4 green Elemental creature token created by Walker of the Grove are both named “Elemental.”
(Rulings updated 3 years ago)


  • standard: Not legal
  • future: Not legal
  • frontier: Not legal
  • modern: Legal
  • legacy: Legal
  • pauper: Not legal
  • vintage: Legal
  • penny: Not legal
  • commander: Legal
  • 1v1: Legal
  • duel: Legal
  • brawl: Not legal
  • oldschool: Not legal
  • historic: Legal
  • pioneer: Not legal
  • gladiator: Legal
  • premodern: Not legal
  • historicbrawl: Legal
  • paupercommander: Not legal
  • alchemy: Not legal
  • explorer: Not legal
  • predh: Legal
  • oathbreaker: Legal

Similar cards: